Author Topic: questions about vinegar coagulated cheeses  (Read 4195 times)

Offline Littlest Goat

• Medium Cheese
  • Cheeses: 0
  • Default personal text
questions about vinegar coagulated cheeses
« on: December 19, 2011, 12:56:06 PM »
Hi
I am just starting out in cheese making.I have some small breed goats so will be using raw goat milk.So far I have made a few direct acid fresh cheeses.Each time the curds have been different.One time I will get large fluffy curd and another time the curd will be small almost grainy.I think I am fallowing the same method and proportions each time but...My questions are:
   1- is it the amount of vinegar and type that is affecting my curd type/size?
   2-is it the temp of milk?How does temp affect forming of curds?
   3-is it the technique of stirring the vinegar into the milk?
   4-how does resting after addition of vinegar affect this?
  5-can I culture the milk before addition of vinegar to create a little more flavor?
   I really like this forum it is loaded with great info and people willing to teach.thank-you

Crystal

Re: questions about vinegar coagulated cheeses
« Reply #1 on: December 21, 2011, 04:24:30 AM »
Though im sure someone will know more about all this, im sure that all those things affect the curds lol!

Not enough vinegar= not much curds
too hot= smaller/tougher curds
too cold= softer/less curds
technique of stirring probably doesnt have much affect, but legnth of time may (?)
resting... As in after adding the vinegar, but before stirring?

As for culturing, im really not sure, but, im of the idea that the vinegar is used in the same sort of way as rennet, which we usually use after culture in most cheese, so i suppose, in theory it could be done... but please, check first, dont follow my advice! LOL!

Hope that helps, maybe post some pix of your cheese as your making it and afterward so some one can help you better?

GREYtownDWELLER

« Reply #2 on: January 15, 2012, 11:46:59 PM »