Author Topic: repurposing fruit screw press for cheese making?  (Read 5186 times)

meganp

repurposing fruit screw press for cheese making?
« on: February 21, 2012, 04:24:59 AM »
I'm still new to cheesemaking, but am really enjoying the process. I'm trying to figure out a press option better than my jury-rigged plank and 5-gal buckets mess. I already have a Ferrari 5L fruit press for the cider making.(http://www.wineworks.co.uk/images/product/med_stainless_press1222676908_17.jpg

Question: is there a way to use this for cheese pressing without making any alterations to it? I know I could wing it, and just eyeball the pressure, but I'd rather have reproducible results. Of course, need to be able to take any alterations off of it to re-convert back to cider pressing. I could create a guide for pressure, but is that a straight "pounds the scale measures" deal? As in, if I stick a scale on the plate, and it reads 54#, then do I generally have 54# of pressure on the cheese at that turn ratio? Or would smaller-diameter cheeses get more pressure at the same "position" because they've got smaller square inches exposed to the pressure?

Thanks,
Megan

Offline Gürkan Yeniçeri

• The one who masters temperature and humidity can make any cheese.
  • Old Cheese
  • Cheeses: 36
  • It's not a hobby, it's an addiction, a good one.
    • Artizan Peynirci
Re: repurposing fruit screw press for cheese making?
« Reply #1 on: February 21, 2012, 04:42:30 AM »
All you need to do is to add a 50lb coil in between the SS follower in the picture and mould follower and screw down as you loose the pressure from time to time. You can stack a bathroom scale under it and adjust pressure if there is space for it.

Cloversmilker

Re: repurposing fruit screw press for cheese making?
« Reply #2 on: February 21, 2012, 04:49:00 AM »