Author Topic: My first Valencay-type cheeses  (Read 2719 times)

tinysar

My first Valencay-type cheeses
« on: March 03, 2012, 09:01:32 AM »
This is my first attempt at a bloomy semi-lactic type cheese. I just used whatever ingredients/equipment I had around, which was goat's milk, meso culture, homemade ash & PC.

I tasted the first one after 6 days, before it had bloomed, and it was delicious! Strong goat-milk taste, very piquant and complex. Much drier than I had expected, given how wet the curds were when I put them in the fridge (even after overnight bag-draining and 2 days mold-draining). Next time I may add a little more salt, and perhaps try aging some of them wetter, but so far, I'm very happy with the result. The ripening boxes smell amazing!

You can just see the first mold appearing now, at 10 days old. They are aging at normal fridge temperature, so it's all going a bit slowly, but no problems so far.
« Last Edit: March 03, 2012, 09:18:53 AM by tinysar »

tinysar

Re: My first Valencay-type cheeses
« Reply #1 on: March 03, 2012, 09:23:31 AM »
I had a question about these cheeses though - they're not really Valencays as they contain no Geo, and weren't made in square molds - so what is the proper name for them?

iratherfly

« Reply #2 on: March 05, 2012, 09:47:24 PM »
Give them your own name!  Crottins by the way are not made with ash and Geo appears naturally in almost any cheese out there, including Valençay.  How big are these? Cute shape!

tinysar

« Reply #3 on: March 06, 2012, 10:46:50 AM »
They're tiny! Around 120g, I would guess. I used this little ceramic mold that a friend gave me (I think it began life as the part of a teapot that you put the leaves in, but it was perfect for little cheeses), which is 6cm (about 2.5 inches) diameter at the widest point.

tinysar

« Reply #4 on: March 06, 2012, 12:06:25 PM »