Author Topic: is this okay or dangerous???  (Read 1669 times)

jmorton.ioh

is this okay or dangerous???
« on: March 09, 2012, 01:36:25 AM »
I know this has been asked a lot, but I don't see any pictures that match what my cheese looks like.  My wife is getting scared, and I think I am too now.  I started the aging in a cold basement but the mold wasn't progressing at the rate I read about.   So it's been back up to normal room temp for a month now.  It's a little soft in the middle when I press, but still hard around the edges.  Moldy smell, but not ammonia any more...not blue cheese smell either.  I didn't start with pure culture, but used the cloning method from the blue cheese I bought.   It started off looking promising with an open texture and filling in with blue but now I'm thinking it's not looking so good.  Thanks for any comments/advice!  p.s. it is about 2months old now

Helen

Re: is this okay or dangerous???
« Reply #1 on: March 09, 2012, 02:14:01 AM »
I am not an expert on mold identification and I am known to eat some nasty looking cheese.

One thing I keep in mind in my edible craft (beer, cheese, meat, etc) is that it is not a sin to bin. Better safe than sorry.

That said, again, it might be perfectly fine and one of the forum experts will let you know.

linuxboy

« Reply #2 on: March 09, 2012, 02:39:13 AM »
There is no way to tell, for any cheese, produced in any setting, if it is safe or not... unless it tests negative for pathogens. That said, humans have been eating all sorts of stuff for years with not many ill effects.

Some practices and mold species do help to ensure a minimization of risk vectors. It's hard to say what has happened here because we do not have detailed records.

jmorton.ioh

« Reply #3 on: March 09, 2012, 02:45:16 AM »