Author Topic: Gouda Question  (Read 929 times)

Monty

Gouda Question
« on: March 19, 2012, 05:09:54 PM »
First and foremost I want to say how much I have enjoyed this forum!  What a remarkable resources for home cheesemakers.  As a novice, I have spent the past several months as a ‘student of the cheese’, reading, learning and starting small.

Today I have two questions.

Question 1 – this weekend I made my first Gouda.  The recipe came from Ricki Carroll’s book and I had zero issues making it…until the end.  The last line instructs me to age the cheese at 50 degrees F for three weeks before waxing.  Any idea what my target humidity is during the three week aging?  Currently, it’s in my cheese cave (aka old frig) at about 60% humidity…which takes me to my second question.

Question 2 – How do I get my cheese cave more humid?  At best I’ve been able to get it up to about 62% but not much higher.  I have one cheese (see Gouda above) and four bowls of water in there at the moment.  Does anyone have any recommendations (short of purchasing a humidifier) for raising the humidity of my cheese cave to the recommended 85-95%???

Thanks again!

Monty

MrsKK

Re: Gouda Question
« Reply #1 on: March 19, 2012, 09:05:22 PM »
Get a lidded plastic container that is big enough to give your cheese some room on all sides.  Also referred to as a ripening container.

You'll need a rack in the bottom to keep the cheese up out of any moisture that might accumulate.  Many people on the forum use "egg crate" - plastic grid made for fluorescent light figures.  I add  a piece of plastic mesh on top of that, otherwise I get 1/2 inch grid marks on the cheese.

If you see condensation on the lid or sides of the container, wipe it off and leave the lid open just a bit.  You should open it every couple of days anyway, to allow the cheese to breathe a bit.

I really like the natural rind that develops when using a ripening container.

Offline MacGruff

• Mature Cheese
  • Cheeses: 23