Author Topic: Re-Press or is it too late?  (Read 2960 times)

Turgid

Re-Press or is it too late?
« on: April 09, 2012, 03:18:03 PM »
Tried my first cheddar this past friday!  The first batch never came to clean break, even after 3-4 hours.  Gave it a shot anyway and ended with about 2/3 cup of curd from 2-gals of whole milk.  Had a few bites and dumped it.    :(

I suspected weak Junket rennet so second batch on saturday I increased from half tab to two whole tabs.  Took 2 hours to get to clean break and even then it was barely passable.  The rest of the process went well and the pic below is the result. 

Obviously not smooth and probably under pressed.  Since I'm just starting out I'm using some homemade items until I can get a proper mold and press.  This is out of a 4" PVC pipe from Home Depot with some holes drilled.  The most weight I could balance on it was 30 lbs for 24 hours.  Tried 40 lbs but it would push the curd out the bottom of the pipe.

Its been air drying since sunday AM.  If I were to come up with a better press, could I press this cheese more?  Or has the knitting window closed.  When I turn it the bottom is wet and the bamboo mat has a wet circle on it.  Not sure what to do with this one...

zenith1

Re: Re-Press or is it too late?
« Reply #1 on: April 09, 2012, 03:57:33 PM »