Author Topic: Please, Point Me To The Perfect Small Scale Cooler  (Read 3516 times)

JustPeachy

Please, Point Me To The Perfect Small Scale Cooler
« on: May 12, 2012, 01:10:31 AM »
I've been searching until I'm nearly blind. There are so many choices I can't even decide anymore. It's becoming frustrating!

I want something that won't break the bank, that will age my future gouda, parm and havarti cheeses as well as chill a few larger (double) bottles of white wine (I enjoy life :P ). You'd think that wasn't much to ask but Geez! I don't want to have to indenture my future children to buy this thing as I'm just starting out and simply want to try my hand at a few cheeses. Yes, I know parm will take a year minimum. I'm adventurous that way, so this unit needs to have staying power. Do I need to look for a dual temp unit? I'm so lost. :(

Please point me towards something reasonable priced ($150-250 USD) that will hold/age a few good sized cheeses and a few larger bottles of white wine, hold a consistent temp and doesn't require a 2nd mortgage. Is that too much to ask?

Thank you for all the help in advance.

Caseus

Re: Please, Point Me To The Perfect Small Scale Cooler
« Reply #1 on: May 12, 2012, 01:38:44 AM »
Welcome to the forum. 

There is no perfect cooler.  And unfortunately yes, I think asking for all those things in the $150 to $250 USD range is too much.  If you had asked for proper humidity control as well, it would absolutely be too much to ask.  The biggest problem, besides inadequate humidity for cheese aging, seems to be temperature control on these small units.  If you get one that is accurate, consider yourself lucky.