Author Topic: How critical is temperature and humidity settings for different cheeses?  (Read 3237 times)

Fishhead

I am new to cheese making and this forum. I have been reading Ricki Carroll's book as well as many web posted articles. I have obtained an small refrigeration to use to age cheese.  But when I step back from everything that I have read, I am wondering how critical the suggested aging temperatures and humidity's are for each type of cheese. I see Swiss should be at 45' F and 80% humidity, Parmesan at 55' F and 85% humidity, while Blue cheese should be at 50' F and 95% humidity.

Right now my little refer is running between 49'-55' F. I just place a hygrometer in today with a dish of water and will know more tomorrow about humidity. But I am concerned about the range that I see published for proper aging. I know it would best to be perfect, but how much variation can occur and still produce good results? Or do I need to think about separate aging systems for each type of cheese.

Thanks for any insights.

linuxboy

At what point in the process and to achieve what ends?

Before fancy gizmos, all we had to rely on were natural phenomena, such as caves, such as air flow that slowly became saturated with water by the time it reached cheeses, and such as isolated molds and other flora to help create distinct flavors and styles.

Using your examples, let's consider how each one is made classically, using the best original examples:
- Swiss is made to have a thicker rind to help slow moisture loss and control surface flora. Its relatively low moisture and target aging time means 80% humidity will result in accelerated moisture loss. Not the end of the world, but will lead to decreased profit for a 7" or so classic swiss height.