Author Topic: switching from microbial rennet to calf rennet  (Read 745 times)

Offline NimbinValley

  • Mature Cheese
  • ****
  • Location: Australia
  • Posts: 288
  • Cheeses: 7
  • Default personal text
switching from microbial rennet to calf rennet
« on: May 30, 2012, 08:24:46 PM »
Can anyone tell me if it is a simple matter of using the IMCU strengths to convert volumes of microbial rennet to calf rennet in my hard cheese recipes?  Or are there other issues I need to consider that may affect the volume I should use.

Thanks.

NVD.


Guests, join the CheeseForum.org community to remove this ad.


Online linuxboy

  • Old Cheese
  • *****
  • Location: Ukiah, CA
  • Posts: 3,986
  • Cheeses: 198
  • www.wacheese.com
    • Washington Cheese Guild
Re: switching from microbial rennet to calf rennet
« Reply #1 on: May 30, 2012, 09:32:39 PM »
With new batches and switching rennets, I always do a small test make using 8 ml/100 lbs milk and time the time to floc when milk pH is 6.5. From that, I know exactly how much to use in all recipes.
Taking an extended leave (until 2015) from the forums to build out my farm and dairy. Please e-mail or PM if you need anything.

Offline NimbinValley

  • Mature Cheese
  • ****
  • Location: Australia
  • Posts: 288
  • Cheeses: 7
  • Default personal text
Re: switching from microbial rennet to calf rennet
« Reply #2 on: May 31, 2012, 07:29:17 PM »
good suggestion.

Thanks.