Author Topic: Farmer's Cheese??  (Read 2796 times)

citybounty

Farmer's Cheese??
« on: July 24, 2012, 07:30:50 AM »
Hi Everyone,
I am very new to this process.  I have made this recipe twice (plus 3 times had to throw it out due to not achieving a clean break)
http://biology.clc.uc.edu/Fankhauser/Cheese/Cheese98.htm

I started reading here today and already am finding several things that I can do to improve and even some things that seem to be completely wrong with this recipe. (temperature before rennet and keeping the temp constant during coagulation for example)

Can someone show me to a recipe for basic cheese (farmer's cheese I think) that is better.  I would like to make some small cheeses for Christmas baskets this year and want to have a fairly consistent finished product.

Also is a "cave" a necessary thing?  Can I put the cheese in my refrigerator or a closet shelf?

Thanks for any input.  I am currently overwhelmed by the info here and can't seem to find one simple first hard cheese recipe yet, but I will keep reading and look forward to understanding much more soon.
Pam

linuxboy

Re: Farmer's Cheese??
« Reply #1 on: July 24, 2012, 10:49:26 AM »
Please start here

http://cheeseforum.org/forum/index.php/topic,1591

Also is a "cave" a necessary thing?

Only if you want to age cheese

Can I put the cheese in my refrigerator or a closet shelf
If you can control humidity by waxing/bagging, or using a humidifier, and also control temp to be within 45-55F.

citybounty

« Reply #2 on: July 24, 2012, 06:57:20 PM »
Thank You, Thank You!!!

I will make this Tomme as soon as possible and get back to you.  Couple questions first though.  MA4000 is a culture, right? where do I get that?

and what does this mean: "multiply by 3 to get total set time from the time you added rennet."

Thanks again,
Pam

JeffHamm

« Reply #3 on: July 24, 2012, 07:15:12 PM »
Hi Pam,