Author Topic: Butterkase #2  (Read 1367 times)

DoctorCheese

Butterkase #2
« on: January 08, 2017, 08:40:36 AM »
I made a three gallon variant of this recipe http://www.cheesemaking.com/Butterkase.html that Boofer recommended I try after I assume he read and was appalled by what I did the first time I made this cheese . ;) Almost everything about the recipe was followed exactly other than, and this is probably a big oopsies, I did not have "buttermilk culture" so I just substituted mesophilic C101 and half a quart of cultured buttermilk. Something strange that I noticed was that when I tasted the curds right before pressing, which I have never done before with a washed curd cheese, they tasted very bland almost like firm tofu. Is that normal? Sorry the picture is upside down, it is not that way on my computer and I don't know what's wrong. :-\ :( The cheese weighs 3 lb 6 oz.

I also did not add Geotrichum
« Last Edit: January 13, 2017, 12:46:13 AM by DoctorCheese »

Offline Danbo

• Old Cheese
  • Cheeses: 116
Re: Butterkase #2
« Reply #1 on: January 08, 2017, 09:04:33 AM »
It's normal for the curds to taste bland and not at all acid when it's a washed cheese. It's a good recipe and I hope that your cheese turns out great.

I make buttercheeses all the time and I have never been disappointed. It's very mild but still with a nice round taste. I usually age my buttercheeses 14-28 days. If aiming for 14 days (for a very mild version) the curds need to be very soft when pressing to ensure enough moisture for the bacteria. If aiming for 28 days they should be a bit firmer but still very soft.

Buttercheese is great for melting in sandwiches and for people not into strong cheesy flavors.