Author Topic: Newbie needs advice!  (Read 739 times)

Lisa Madona

Newbie needs advice!
« on: August 02, 2017, 02:28:37 PM »
I am new to cheesemaking and decided to go natural after reading a book. I am using kefir as my culture. I keep having failures with the curds. I threw out my rennet and ordered new. Still too soft. I have some walcoren tablets on the way.  Is it rennet failing or is it kefir messing with the acidity? I can't get raw milk so use pasteurized cow milk.  So, another question. Do I add calcium chloride if I am using kefir or does kefir "fix" the milk. Feeling frustrated. Oh. I've been trying to make mozzarella and cheddar without the freeze dried cultures. I was doing good with mozzarella before I went all natural. 

Offline awakephd

• Old Cheese
  • Cheeses: 240
  • compounding the benefits of a free press
Re: Newbie needs advice!
« Reply #1 on: August 04, 2017, 06:43:00 PM »
Lisa, welcome to the forum. Sorry to hear about the failures, but glad to hear that you are persevering!

I'll start the ball rolling on offering some possible answers, and hopefully others will chime in with true words of wisdom. :)

First off, if you are new to cheese making, you might want to make sure you can get predictable results with the freeze dried cultures first. Kefir is a very dynamic product, which can differ greatly from one person's batch to another's, and even for the same person will vary over time, depending on which bacteria and yeasts have dominated. This means that you are working with an unpredictable variable, and it may be hard to nail down where the problem lies. some of the experienced cheese makers here have found that using kefir makes it hard  to get desired results even when all the other variables are controlled.