Over salting and ripening help

Started by neescheese, July 27, 2020, 04:00:42 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

neescheese

Hi all,

I'm new to cheese making but have now gone through 8 rounds of making a brie/camembert type (about one every other week save from the very 1st, so making without the benefit of tasting). My first attempt was successful (good mold, good paste) but I used fine salt rather than course and the result was an edible but too salty cheese. I've since used course salt and have kept the measurements and timing pretty much the same for the subsequent batches and nearly each batch has shown good mold coverage during the first aging phase (in my case this is a wine refrigerator set at 54 degrees F, flipping twice daily). My problem is this: I recently re-read the instructions and have discovered that while the suggested amount of salt for 1 gallon of cow's milk was 1.5 teaspoons (3/4 per side) I was inadvertently putting that amount on EACH of the three rounds I'd made from the gallon - in effect using triple the amount suggested. That said, all batches look great (see photos) and despite my sense that it may be a total waste, I'm continuing with the aging process after mold growth to see what happens (phase two of my aging has been wrapping after full mold growth and storing in a home refrigerator for 3 weeks set at 39 degrees F - this is the same as I'd done with successful batch #1). In the collective experience, is over-salting certain death for cheese? I've now come to the 4 week mark on one of the earlier batches and the cheese is pretty hard. Should I throw in the towel and consider this part of the learning curve or is there any hope that these cheeses will create the hoped-for paste? And moving forward, how can I properly salt my cheese. I believe there is a weight ratio somewhere? TIA for any advice.

Bantams