Author Topic: Calcium Chloride - When, Amount, & At What Temperature?  (Read 12989 times)

SANDQ

Re: Calcium Chloride - When, Amount, & At What Temperature?
« Reply #15 on: April 05, 2010, 08:26:19 PM »
Alex, I forgot to ask, how long have you been in Israel?

SANDQ

« Reply #16 on: April 05, 2010, 08:40:09 PM »
Sailor, thanks for a definitive answer on amounts, you say I should see what happens, but I am so new to this I don't really know what I'm looking for yet, could you please enlighten a complete novice.  Thanks Q     

Sailor Con Queso

« Reply #17 on: April 06, 2010, 02:23:36 AM »
In order to answer that, I have to ask why you feel you need to use it?

The molecular structure of calcium is a complicated discusssion. But, as a simple explaination, CaCl is generally used to "fix" milk calcium that has been damaged or compromised. This can be from pasteurization, late lactation, poor quality milk, etc. For example, you should usually use it with most store bought milk.

The symptoms that might suggest using CaCl are:
  • You need to use more rennet than "normal"
  • Slow flocculation (early stage of curd set)
  • Slow curd set
  • Weak curd (like thick yogurt or soft pudding)
  • No true "clean break"
  • Excessive loss of milk fat after curd cutting and during "cooking". (whey is white instead of greenish)
  • ... I'm sure there are others, but these are what I look for.
If you aren't having any of these problems, you probably don't need to use CaCl anyway. There are many other variables that can also cause these problems.
« Last Edit: April 06, 2010, 01:26:19 PM by Sailor Con Queso »

Alex

« Reply #18 on: April 06, 2010, 09:50:44 AM »
Ma Yanim Alex? Sorry for not introducing my self, S and Q is Sally and Quentin, I am Quentin, Q for short! thanks for all the info on labneh. Are you using CaCl, because you are using shop bought milk? Where are you getting goat milk from in Haifa? Why do you think goat milk is better?