Author Topic: Newbie here... what is this talk of vacuuming???  (Read 1334 times)

Kandrews

Newbie here... what is this talk of vacuuming???
« on: October 12, 2010, 05:02:35 AM »
Total newbie here!! I've done soft cheeses, but no hard cheeses.. yet :D

I keep hearing about vacuuming cheese! Are we talking "Food Saver" vacuuming? or something different? How does this compare to waxing? If you do vacuum with a food saver, what's next?? same humidity and temp? Any tricks?

Offline Boofer

• Old Cheese
  • Cheeses: 344
  • Contemplating cheese
Re: Newbie here... what is this talk of vacuuming???
« Reply #1 on: October 12, 2010, 06:44:41 AM »
Vacuum-bagging, vacuum-sealing, bagging...it all means the same thing.

I started out waxing and progressed fairly quickly to sealing in plastic. The wax seal is traditional for certain styles such as Gouda. I found, as did others on the forum, that mold may form under the wax occasionally. That's a PITA. You may also have a pinhole or crack in the wax which would expose the cheese to the elements.

Sometime back I bought a Foodsaver on Ebay along with three 11"x50' rolls of bag material. What a pleasure to seal a cheese and have it be secure while it ages. You can also see external changes, including whey seepage and any spurious infection that may have sneaked in. One downside is that the plastic bag doesn't allow the cheese to breathe (exchange gases). That factor may be essential to the development of certain cheeses. Another negative for bagging would be that a natural rind cannot develop if it isn't exposed to the air. If that isn't important, then bagging may be the way to go.

I can age a wheel of cheese, cut it to sample, vacuum-seal the rest as quarters in their own individual bags, and age them. Later, I can open one of the quarters to test and reseal it if it isn't quite ready. It really is quite convenient, clean, and quick.