Author Topic: Manufactured Freeze Dried Starter Cultures - Amount & Why?  (Read 1521 times)

Mousetrap

Manufactured Freeze Dried Starter Cultures - Amount & Why?
« on: August 31, 2011, 05:05:42 PM »
I'm pretty new to cheesemaking and have a few question on starter culture.  I have seen directions saying that a single packet of mesophilic direct set will do 2 gallons of milk.  I've also seen elsewhere that a single packet will start 2 - 4 gallons.  I usually make with 4 gallons of milk and have been using 2 packets.  I assume that it is similar to bread yeast and is a function of time, temp and afailable food.  Also, can I treat the direct set the same as I do sourdough yeast starters for breadmaking and warm a portion of the milk early adding a single packet to it to get it growing while the batch is coming to temp, then add it to the batch 30 - 45 minutes later when everything is up and ready to go?  Will it effect the time before adding rennet or create a problem with too much culture?  I would watch for ph targets if I knew what they should be.

Mousetrap

Re: Manufactured Freeze Dried Starter Cultures - Amount & Why?
« Reply #2 on: September 05, 2011, 11:26:57 PM »
Linuxboy, thanks for the road map.  It was a great help and filled in a lot of gaps for me.   I was thinking more is better as in bread or beer making.  Now I understand that we are looking for a targeted culture density.  In further reading I also found the specific method I was curious about on page 205 of "American Farmstead Cheese." 

linuxboy

Re: Manufactured Freeze Dried Starter Cultures - Amount & Why?
« Reply #3 on: September 06, 2011, 04:44:17 AM »
I was thinking more is better as in bread or beer making.