Author Topic: cheese sticking to cheesecloth?  (Read 2985 times)

Offline AnneDygert

• Young Cheese
  • Cheeses: 0
  • Default personal text
cheese sticking to cheesecloth?
« on: January 09, 2019, 11:15:33 AM »
I just finished a swiss cheese which stuck like glue to the final press.   It also stuck to the first one,so i changed the cheesecloth and it was fine with the next ones i did . And the final one i just washed the cloth and re-used it and the cheese stuck again.
 my final swiss is now pitted and pockmarked - what is this going to do as it ages?  Is this going to compromise the swelling and formation of holes?  I'm just not sure where to go from here - seems a shame to toss it out.

Thank you!  Newbie here.
Anne

Offline mikekchar

• Old Cheese
  • Cheeses: 118
  • Default personal text
Re: cheese sticking to cheesecloth?
« Reply #1 on: January 09, 2019, 05:41:55 PM »
Many people omit the cheesecloth on the last press.  This gives a smooth final finish on the cheese.  The cheesecloth is good for keeping the initial curds together and to soak up whey so that you don't get pockets of it along the side of the cheese, but once you've flipped the cheese a few times, there is no need for it.

As for ageing it, you may have difficulty with mould growing in the pockmarks, but other than that it won't make any difference.

Offline AnneDygert

• Young Cheese
  • Default personal text
« Reply #2 on: January 09, 2019, 11:45:42 PM »
thank you!!  I was planning on waxing it after the holes have developed (hypothetically, if they develop), so maybe that will reduce the mold potential in a couple of weeks, anyway.

River Bottom Farm

« Reply #3 on: January 10, 2019, 12:17:06 AM »
That is usually caused by a difference in acidity between cloth and cheese (search the forum for it). Soak the cloth in whey or in citric acid mixture before hooping the cheese sometimes helps. Can omit cloth in last press like Mike said too

Offline H-K-J

• Old Cheese
  • Cheeses: 145