Author Topic: Fat, carbs, and protein distribution between cheese and liquid whey.  (Read 4344 times)

mm.mansour

Hello guys,

I am new to the world of cheese making and I am trying to understand what exactly happens to macronutrients when cheese is made and I hope you could help me with that.
If we start with a generic 1 liter of milk that has something around these macros:
47 grams of carbohydrates (in the form of lactose).
31 grams of protein (6 grams of which is whey and 25 grams for casein).
31 grams of fat.

If one makes a simple cheese like paneer or cottage using acid only what portions of these macros goes in the cheese and what portion goes into the liquid whey?
To answer this question I made some estimations based on these three premises:
1- Most carbs stay in liquid whey.
2- Most whey stays in liquid whey and most casein goes into cheese.
3- Most fat goes into cheese.

If we use a factor of 0.95 as a quantitative representation for "most" we end up with these number in a block of cheese (irrespective of its weight) made from 1L of milk:
2.4 grams of carbs.
24 grams of protein (0.3 whey and 23.7 casein).
29.5 grams of fat.
The liquid whey will have:
44.6 grams of carbs.
7 grams of protein (5.7 whey 1.3 casein).
1.5 grams of fat.

Why did I use the 0.95? I just pulled it out of thin air. Although I came across what is known as "recovery of fat (RF)" and "recovery of casein (RC)" mentioned here https://www.cheesescience.org/yield.html and they were around this figure.
Why did I assume most carbs goes into liquid whey?
According to the USDA entry for liquid whey, it is actually mostly carbs.
USDA Sweet Whey Entry
https://ndb.nal.usda.gov/ndb/foods/show/01114?fgcd=&manu=&format=&count=&max=25&offset=&sort=default&order=asc&qlookup=whey&ds=&qt=&qp=&qa=&qn=&q=&ing=
USDA Acid Whey Entry
https://ndb.nal.usda.gov/ndb/foods/show/01112?fgcd=&manu=&format=&count=&max=25&offset=&sort=default&order=asc&qlookup=whey&ds=&qt=&qp=&qa=&qn=&q=&ing=

So my questions are: