Author Topic: Waterbath and sous-vide setup  (Read 1833 times)

soniaR

Waterbath and sous-vide setup
« on: January 25, 2019, 04:55:59 PM »
A few years ago, Spoons posted a photo of a setup of a waterbath with sous-vide and stainless steam table insert, all in a plastic tub. It appears to be a good setup. I'd like to know if others have used this, and what the pros and cons might be. I'm still a beginner, and I find maintaining and slowly increasing temps to be a challenge. Also, I currently do no more than 1-gallon makes, but would like to increase it to 2-gallon (max) but this means upgrading my equipment so it seems like a good time to look into changing my setup. Any input would be appreciated. [I'm trying to paste in an image of the setup, but it's not working!]

rgreenberg2000

Re: Waterbath and sous-vide setup
« Reply #1 on: January 25, 2019, 05:03:52 PM »
Sonia, I used my new sous vide setup last weekend, and it worked great.  This is a full size, 8" deep steam pan, and an 11 qt "vegetable/soup" steam insert.  I raised the round insert off the bottom of the steam table with a stainless steamer grate so that water can flow underneath as well as around the sides.  This setup worked quite well for me, and I was able to maintain and adjust temperatures with good accuracy.  Hope that helps!

Rich

soniaR

« Reply #2 on: January 25, 2019, 08:51:33 PM »
Thank you, Rich. That setup looks great, sort of similar to Spoons'. I imagine a local restaurant supply store would have a selection.

rgreenberg2000

« Reply #3 on: January 25, 2019, 11:12:27 PM »
Sonia, I got both of those items at my local restaurant supply.  I asked if they had any used gear, and got the steam table pan for about $12 (looks to have hardly been used.)  The round insert was $23.

R

Offline TravisNTexas

• Mature Cheese
  • Cheeses: 6
  • Sweet dreams are made of cheese...
« Reply #4 on: January 27, 2019, 03:10:25 PM »