Author Topic: Yogurt - yucky, slimy texture  (Read 13721 times)

soniaR

Yogurt - yucky, slimy texture
« on: September 01, 2019, 01:32:17 AM »
I've been making yogurt for a few years and have been very happy with the results. Always 1% organic homogenized cow milk. As a starter, I have used either previous batch, yogurt culture, or storebought. I've never had a problem, nice separation of whey so good for straining for Greek yogurt.

My last batch was a disaster: the texture was, sorry to say, like slime. The yogurt dripped off the spoon in a weird way. Barely any visible whey. Edible but not what I like at all. I chalked it up to heating to 185F instead of my usual 165F never thinking that it might have been the storebought yogurt I got which was one I had never used before: 2% fat, all the correct live cultures, no additives, gums. etc. 

So when I made today's batch, using the same storebought yogurt (not wanting to use previous batch because it was so bad), it happened again!! Plus, by mistake I made a full gallon instead of my usual 1/2-3/4 gallon. So now I'm stuck with all this slimy yogurt that I don't like.

So here are my questions:
- Why would it take on this slimy texture?
- Is there anything I can do to this current batch to salvage it in some way, or at least camouflage the texture so I can eat it?(BTW, last batch I tried straining for Greek and it would not separate and drain.)

I'm assuming it was the starter yogurt, which I will never buy again. Everything else in my method was exactly as I have always done it.

Here is my normal method and the one I did today: Heat milk to 165F. Cool to 115F. Remove some milk to mix with starter yogurt, then mix into milk. Pour in jars and cover. Place in proofer at 120F for one hour; reduce to 86F. Time until ready always varies.