Author Topic: Halloumi making tips  (Read 2750 times)

campanaacres

Halloumi making tips
« on: December 11, 2019, 05:24:04 PM »
Hello, I'm getting into making Halloumi and am wondering when the best time to add the salt is.  I've heard several different things.  Mixing with rennet before adding, adding the salt separately before mixing, mixing the salt with cold water and then pouring it in, etc.  Does it matter when the salt is added?  Thanks in advance for any advice!

Offline MacGruff

• Mature Cheese
  • Cheeses: 23
  • Default personal text
Re: Halloumi making tips
« Reply #1 on: February 09, 2020, 02:56:10 PM »
I noticed that no one has answered you, and I am a rookie at it myself.

However, I stopped by with a different question. I am following the recipe in Karlin's book. She suggested no salt in the milk at all. Once the cheese is cooked, and cooled, she has us putting the hard cheese in a brine for 5 days. That's the stage I am in right now. I tasted the cheese before brining, and now, every day while flipping it in the brine, and it is definitely getting the right flavor by being in the brine.

My own question has to do with why she has us cutting the cheese wheel - which is round, of course - into a rectangle?  Doing the geometry calculations, I noticed it increased the surface area slightly, but I am not sure if that's the reason? Or, is there a different one?

Thanks,

campanaacres

« Reply #2 on: February 18, 2020, 05:11:23 PM »
I know the traditional shape is round and when it's folded over the mint it becomes a half moon.  I don't know the history behind it, but I'm thinking of using a rectangle so it's easier to manufacture and store.  Sorry I couldn't be of more help.

Offline MacGruff

• Mature Cheese
  • Default personal text
« Reply #3 on: February 19, 2020, 12:24:30 PM »
It's been long enough since my question was posted that I have actually been able to taste the cheese post-brining.