Author Topic: 1st Jarlsberg  (Read 1208 times)

Offline smcatharine

• Young Cheese
  • Cheeses: 7
  • Default personal text
1st Jarlsberg
« on: May 10, 2020, 01:47:10 PM »
Hi! I love reading everyone's posts. I learn so much! I have been making cheese off and on for a few years. Mostly I vac pack it so I don't have to worry so much about it.
I've been hankering to make a Jarlsberg style cheese but afraid to which is stupid so I made on a few weeks ago. It's going into WEEK 2 of the warm phase. I have it on top of my cheese cave at about 93% humidity and 68 or so. I wipe it down everyday. A few days this black mold started. Do I have to worry about it and remove it aggressively or is it part of the process?
I didn't want to wax the cheese before the warm phase since it seems nearly everyone says it cracks when the cheese expands.
This is a 4 gallon cheese. I used the recipe from 200 Easy cheeses but also followed Jim Wallace's instructions to a certain extent.

Thanks for you help!

Offline Lancer99

• Mature Cheese
  • Cheeses: 44
  • Default personal text
Re: 1st Jarlsberg
« Reply #1 on: May 10, 2020, 07:09:33 PM »
Hi,
I would have waxed it immediately after it dried.  You're absolutely right, as they expand they can break the wax (I had to re-wax one twice), but that prevents any mold, so I think it' s worth it.

I'm afraid that doesn't help your current situation -- hopefully wiser cheeses can give you some advice.

-L

Offline smcatharine

• Young Cheese
  • Default personal text
« Reply #2 on: May 10, 2020, 08:48:38 PM »
Thanks. I may just vac pack. It seems people have had good results with that.
So, my eyes may not look so great. Fine with me. It's taste I'm after!
It's hard to be patient! :-\

DrChile

« Reply #3 on: May 11, 2020, 06:36:02 AM »
Have you tried wiping it a bit more aggressively with brine and a cheesecloth?