Author Topic: Making half quantites.  (Read 2198 times)

Phooey

Making half quantites.
« on: June 05, 2020, 11:45:33 AM »
Guys, I am going to have a go at a stilton and have found a recipe I like to follow but only want to make a small amount.  The recipe starts with 8L of milk and I was thinking to use 4L.  The recipe calls for 90 minutes to set the curd but if I half the ingredients, do I still need 90 minutes to set a curd or does this need to be reduced too?  Also pressing time says 12 hours with about 4kg pressure.  Do I keep the 12 hours and 4kg?  I wouldn't want to over press and dry out the cheese too much.

Cheese guys

Offline MacGruff

• Mature Cheese
  • Cheeses: 23
  • Default personal text
Re: Making half quantites.
« Reply #1 on: June 05, 2020, 07:26:44 PM »
I am no expert as you can see from my other posts on this forum, but I would halve the quantities of ingredients and not the timing or the weights.

Offline scasnerkay

• Old Cheese
  • Cheeses: 197
  • Default personal text
« Reply #2 on: June 05, 2020, 08:49:20 PM »
I once made a tomme with 1/2 a gallon just to see if it was possible. Temperature and times stay the same, weight is less because the form is smaller.
Susan

Phooey

« Reply #3 on: June 05, 2020, 09:30:13 PM »
I am no expert as you can see from my other posts on this forum, but I would halve the quantities of ingredients and not the timing or the weights.

Thanks

Phooey

« Reply #4 on: June 05, 2020, 09:30:46 PM »
I once made a tomme with 1/2 a gallon just to see if it was possible. Temperature and times stay the same, weight is less because the form is smaller.

Thanks … appreciate it.

Offline mikekchar

• Old Cheese
  • Cheeses: 118
  • Default personal text
« Reply #5 on: June 05, 2020, 10:31:38 PM »