Author Topic: Sweaty Camembert  (Read 1016 times)

Grumbly

Sweaty Camembert
« on: September 18, 2020, 09:43:15 AM »
Hi all. Another iso newbie here. Loving the forum.

Second attempt at Camembert, and this lot have started sweating (not sure if this is the right term?) in their wrap, and I was wondering if they will be OK, or if I should intervene in some way?

The batch went into the wine fridge at 11degC and were wrapped and put in the normal fridge after 14 days. The baby sized one in the picture was sacrificed for QA purposes before wrapping. It had some slip skin, and was a bit bitey on the palate, but otherwise seemed OK for how young it was.

The wrap is a cellophane cheese wrap. There was visible condensation on the ripening box right up until wrapping, so I suspect I just didn’t let it dry out enough before wrapping?

Offline Bantams

• Mature Cheese
  • Cheeses: 28
  • Default personal text
Re: Sweaty Camembert
« Reply #1 on: September 18, 2020, 03:05:00 PM »
I don't think that's the best wrap for actually aging these cheeses. Look for the white double layer cheese paper that is specifically for aging bloomies. Even then, there are so many out there and some are better than others so you may have to trial a few more to find the best. Find a cheese supply company that sells to commercial producers and ask what the best one is.

Marco

« Reply #2 on: September 18, 2020, 07:40:12 PM »
The wrap looks like it won’t allow gas exchange or moisture exchange. I would buy some dedicated for soft cheeses.  There is some excellent ageing advice in this thread, post #3.
http://cheeseforum.org/forum/index.php/topic,13484.0.html

Offline mikekchar

• Old Cheese
  • Cheeses: 118
  • Default personal text
« Reply #3 on: September 19, 2020, 02:17:49 AM »