Author Topic: Advice on purchasing molds for lactic cheeses  (Read 1672 times)

InTheWoods

Advice on purchasing molds for lactic cheeses
« on: January 29, 2021, 10:22:03 PM »
Hello.  I'm new to cheesemaking.  Been making cheese and cultured milk products for about a month or so now and I'm really enjoying it.  I've made buttermilk, yogurt, fresh soft cheeses including chevre and cream cheese, halloumi, and traditional mozzarella successfully.

I am fascinated by bloomy rind cheeses.  I am in the process of making my first cam right now and want to make more.  I would like your advice about what kinds of molds to get to make lactic and semi lactic cheese.  There are so many choices that it gets confusing for a noob.  I currently have 4 chevre and 2 cam molds.  I am thinking of getting an assortment of sizes so I can have cheese ripening over a period of time from one culture and not all at once, plus it would be nice to have an assortment of cheese to give to my friends.  What molds are the most useful?

I am thinking of getting Petit molds for bite size cheese.  Other options are Crotin, Sain Marcelin, Rigotte, Fourme d'Ambert, etc.  What molds do you use most often and why?

Alexandra

Offline Bantams

• Mature Cheese
  • Cheeses: 28
  • Default personal text
Re: Advice on purchasing molds for lactic cheeses
« Reply #1 on: January 29, 2021, 10:57:38 PM »
Which source are you looking at?

InTheWoods

« Reply #2 on: January 29, 2021, 11:03:23 PM »
I was looking at NEC's molds, but I am not wedded to them.  I need to do some price comparisons among the suppliers.

Offline Bantams

• Mature Cheese
  • Cheeses: 28
  • Default personal text
« Reply #3 on: January 30, 2021, 12:13:34 AM »
Generally bloomy rind cheeses are all about the same height (optimal rind:paste ratio and ripening speed) so I don't think different sized molds will make much difference in aging time. You'll want everything to be about 1.5" tall or so.