Author Topic: New startup, hobbyist - advice on what cultures to acquire?  (Read 2451 times)

Offline DiamondDaveMg

• Medium Cheese
  • Cheeses: 1
  • Jack of all trades....
New startup, hobbyist - advice on what cultures to acquire?
« on: March 14, 2021, 09:37:06 PM »
I'm new to cheesemaking and still in the learning and equipment gathering process.  As I don't have a store that sells cheesemaking material and equipment nearby, I'll need to buy much of what I need online...and deal with the shipping costs.

As regards to starters and cultures and comparing different recipes...ugh...there are a lot of options and brand specific naming. Its not clear to me if I use a different thermophilic culture in a butterkase recipe than called for, if I'll end up with a slightly different tasting butterkase or a wildly different cheese

To minimize shipping costs I'd like to order a few cultures that I can use in different recipes - my first cheeses will be butterkase, Havarti Cotswold and a parmesan or asiago.  Is there a group of meso and thermophilic cultures I should get to use across those cheese types, or as a beginner should I simply follow the recipe to the Tee and purchase exactly what is called for?

Offline Mornduk

• Medium Cheese
  • Cheeses: 19
  • Default personal text
Re: New startup, hobbyist - advice on what cultures to acquire?
« Reply #1 on: March 14, 2021, 10:06:16 PM »
Welcome!

You can find a chart cross-referencing cultures and cheeses you can make with them here.
Different recipes for the same cheese will call for different cultures. The only think you "must" have for the cheeses you listed is a thermophilic and a mesophilic culture (a high temperature and a low temperature acidifier).