Author Topic: Why did my Brie and Camembert not soften at all?  (Read 3290 times)

Offline Eve

• Young Cheese
  • Cheeses: 0
  • Default personal text
Why did my Brie and Camembert not soften at all?
« on: March 21, 2021, 05:31:51 PM »
I am very new to cheese making. I am only trying it for some months...

I made a triple cream brie with the cheesemaking.com recipe. First time it went ok although it tasted a bit like cheap brie. I'd call it a chemical esther taste. Not my favorite, but hey, it worked. The second time, I used the same recipe and I made a brie and also a camembert (different recipe of course but also cheesemaking.com). The cheese didn't soften at all. They were so hard I could throw them like rocks.

Now, what changed in between brie 1 and brie 2. First: second time I used cultures that I froze in before. Can it be the frozen cultures weren't good. Yes, I did put them in milk some days before to grow for a bit (like with a buttermilk culture). Second: I got a wine fridge for xmas to use as a cheese cave. I don't think the humidity was ok. Probably WAY to dry.

Is one of these changes the culprit for my hard cheeses, or was it something else? Anyone has an idea?

Thank you,
Eve

Offline quantumcheese

• Young Cheese
  • Default personal text
Re: Why did my Brie and Camembert not soften at all?
« Reply #1 on: March 22, 2021, 01:02:56 PM »
Hey Eve,

How long did the white mold take to appear?

Without more information it is difficult to say, but my guess would be low humidity. I also use a wine fridge to ripen my cheeses, and to keep humidity up I use ripening boxes. They are basically tupperwares with an inner tray at the bottom. The tray allows air to flow also below the cheese and keeps it from being in contact with the released whey. Here's an example: