Author Topic: Rennet testing  (Read 2079 times)

Offline bansidhe

• Mature Cheese
  • Cheeses: 20
  • Default personal text
Rennet testing
« on: April 02, 2021, 12:43:32 AM »
I apologize in advance as this has surely been addressed on this forum but I could not find the answer I am looking for.  I am very new to this.  I have tried three basic cheeses and just cannot seem to get a clean break.  I have tried three kinds of milk and am using rennet I just got from NE cheese Making.com. So I was looking for ways to test rennet.  I have found three different sites.  Each are essentially the same BUT the amount of rennet added to the 8oz of milk is different in each.  Two have 1/4 tsp in 1/2 cup water.  But One of those says 2tsp of the solution and another says 2TBSP.  Another says 1/4tsp rennet to 2TBSP water.. and you add that.  As you can see the amount of rennet in each test is quite different!   The first adding ~0.007tsp, the second 0.02 tsp and the lactone the entire 0.25 tsp.  Which is it?  Thanks!
Making cheese is easy, making a cheese is hard

Offline MacGruff

• Mature Cheese
  • Cheeses: 23
  • Default personal text
Re: Rennet testing
« Reply #1 on: April 02, 2021, 11:40:25 AM »
Look at the label on the bottle that you got, My experience from that particular vendor is that they tend to be a bit more dilute than most. So, if it says - on the label! - to use 1/2 a teaspoon for two gallons of milk, I tend to use 3/8. Then, read about the flocculation method on this forum of how to calculate when to cut the curds.

Have fun!

Offline bansidhe

• Mature Cheese
  • Default personal text
« Reply #2 on: April 02, 2021, 12:59:30 PM »