Author Topic: Moisture and/or pH vs. the "Grip Test"  (Read 4308 times)

Offline rsterne

• Old Cheese
  • Cheeses: 54
  • Too many hobbies - too little time!
Moisture and/or pH vs. the "Grip Test"
« on: May 03, 2021, 09:19:01 PM »
We have all seen recipes which call for you to perform a "Grip Test" towards the end of the cooking of the curds, at whatever is the highest temperature they reach.... That could be from direct heating, or using a warm water wash, which is usually followed by a period of stirring until they "feel" right.... Understanding that correct feel, in its various and subtle variations, is obviously the way the old-time cheesemakers did the job, before the day of pH meters.... so it would be helpful if those of you with a lot more experience than I could give us noobs their advice on how the Grip Test might relate to the pH....

I have been doing Grip Tests on every cheese I make for several months now, whether the recipe calls for it or not (I don't own a pH meter, and have no desire to get one).... In addition, every time I see one mentioned in a recipe, I try and visualize and understand what they are describing.... I have come up with a "scale" from soft to hard, that goes something like this.... Note, we only do Semi-Soft to Extra-Hard cheeses that are pressed in a mold....

1. Very Soft.... When you squeeze a small ball of curds in your hand, they turn to mush, and milky whey runs out between your fingers....

2. Soft.... The ball of curds compresses into a soft mass, with the curds melding together easily, and when teased with the thumb, tend to stay matted.... Individual curds, when pinched between the index finger and thumb flatten and tend not to rebound....

3. Medium Soft.... The ball of curds consolidates, but you can still see individual curds, and when teased with the thumb the ball starts to come apart.... Individual curds are a bit resilient, and bounce back to about half their original thickness after pinching....