Author Topic: B.Linens - is it there?  (Read 3147 times)

Offline Walrus

• Medium Cheese
  • Cheeses: 1
  • Default personal text
B.Linens - is it there?
« on: September 02, 2021, 07:46:15 AM »
Hey guys,
it's my first time using b.linens and I can't recognize, if there is any b.linens on my cheese or not.

I made raclette and tilsit, both were inoculated when I was adding cultures (raclette had 1/16 ts BL for 10l raw milk and tilsit had 1/32 ts BL for 10l raw milk)

I used lysozyme for raclette to combat late blowing (0,2 g lysozyme for 10l)

Raclette was made on 25.7. (about 5 weeks old) and is currently ripening in a box in a cheesecave
Tilsit was made on 15.8. (about 2 weeks old) and is currently ripening in a box in a cheesecave

Both cheeses were washed with b.linens wash two times.

I attach photos of both cheeses before washing. Raclette is much more yellowish that it was on the start, but I see no rich orange mould which I saw on many tutorials.

Can you recognize any b.linens from the photos, or is my culture faulty?

Offline bansidhe

• Mature Cheese
  • Cheeses: 20
  • Default personal text
Re: B.Linens - is it there?
« Reply #1 on: September 02, 2021, 12:34:18 PM »
My cheeses with B Linens look like that typically.  Once I got a really nice red coat but usually it just looks reddish orange like yours.
Making cheese is easy, making a cheese is hard

Offline Aris

• Mature Cheese
  • Cheeses: 28
  • Default personal text
« Reply #2 on: September 02, 2021, 03:37:36 PM »
You need to wash it more often like every other day until B. linens become established to inhibit the molds. It looks like you will also need to brush it.

Offline Bantams

• Mature Cheese
  • Default personal text
« Reply #3 on: September 02, 2021, 04:11:53 PM »
I agree, needs more washing.  The inoculation isn't the important step - it's the washing with brine every day or every other day. 

Offline Walrus

• Medium Cheese
  • Default personal text