Author Topic: Lineback Cows  (Read 2388 times)

Offline bansidhe

• Mature Cheese
  • Cheeses: 20
  • Default personal text
Lineback Cows
« on: September 27, 2021, 01:18:51 PM »
Hi,  I have heard much about Jersey cows and how great their milk is for cheesemaking.  I was wondering if anyone knew anything about Lineback cows? I ask because a local dairy's herd is 90% Lineback cows so I was wondering about their milk, how much protein, fat, etc

thanks

Making cheese is easy, making a cheese is hard

Offline mikekchar

• Old Cheese
  • Cheeses: 118
  • Default personal text
Re: Lineback Cows
« Reply #1 on: September 27, 2021, 01:34:27 PM »
Personally never heard of them before (but I'm not a cattle expert!).  Wikipedia says that they are a dual purpose breed, which from a milk perspective means that yield will be lower.  It does say that milk quality is higher (higher protein and higher fat).  This is pretty typical of that type of cow, if I understand correctly.  The modern Holstein is bred for volume, not quality.  I suspect that the milk will be quite good.

Offline Bantams

• Mature Cheese
  • Cheeses: 28
  • Default personal text
« Reply #2 on: September 27, 2021, 03:43:08 PM »
Jerseys are actually not ideal for cheesemaking because their milk typically has too much butterfat ;) They're more of a butter cow.
For most cheeses, you want roughly a 1:1 ratio of fat to protein (obviously richer milk is preferred for some blues, bloomies, soft washed rinds, etc, but I'm talking about normal aged cheese - Cheddar, Gouda, Alpines, etc.)
Linebacks should produce great cheese milk. Dual purpose simply means they were bred for both milk and beef; it indicates nothing about milk quality except that those breeds tend to be low/moderate producers.
I think all breeds make great milk and most of the variation comes down to how the cows are fed and how the milk is handled. 

Offline bansidhe

• Mature Cheese
  • Default personal text