Author Topic: Understanding Rind Moulds  (Read 2590 times)

Offline lacaseus

• Young Cheese
  • Cheeses: 4
  • Default personal text
Understanding Rind Moulds
« on: September 29, 2021, 12:58:47 AM »
I'm very new to natural-rinded cheeses, and I have questions about the safety/desirability of moulds that show up during aging. It seems many people in the affinage board have started unpopular threads on this topic, so I'm reluctant to add to them. In the interests of attracting the attention of experienced cheesemakers and making this thread useful in situations other than my specific one, I'm wondering if people can weigh in on these questions:

- In the context of not intentionally inoculating a cheese, what kind of moulds would be expected to naturally appear on a cheese as it ages?
- Are there ways to tell whether a particular mould I find on a cheese is dangerous?
- Is it possible to control these moulds without waxing? I've found wiping them off fairly ineffective.
- Assuming I conclude that a cheese is safe to eat, do I remove the rind (if so, how much?) or eat it?

Offline lacaseus

• Young Cheese
  • Cheeses: 4
  • Default personal text
Re: Understanding Rind Moulds
« Reply #1 on: September 29, 2021, 01:01:43 AM »
Here's my specific situation, in case anyone wants to provide specific advice.