Author Topic: HARD CHEESE FROM YOGURT  (Read 4251 times)

Offline wauserfriendly

• New Cheese
  • Cheeses: 0
  • Default personal text
HARD CHEESE FROM YOGURT
« on: March 07, 2022, 07:16:09 AM »

Thanks.  I'm sure these have been asked all the time and I appreciate those of you who have to read them again and again.

I've been making my own yogurt for close to 50 years.  I'd like to build on this to produce things other than greek yogurt or soft high acid cheeses like cream cheeses.

I heat my milk to 180 then cool it rapidly to about 110. 
Then I add some yogurt, often mixed with a can of condensed milk, stir and incubate abt about 110 for about 8 hours.

Sometimes I strain the whey away for greek style, or even more away for something akin to cream cheese.

10 Can I make other cheeses, perhaps hard cheeses from this?  I have made something like boursin by adding herbs and some oil.

2) I know there's too much lactic acid for something like mozarella or swiss.  But if I stop an hour after incubation, could I make other hard cheeses from that?

3) Whenever I see directions for other cheeses, they talk about wiping away mold, or using vinegar.  How can we be sure that we have mold that is not so toxic?  Do the bad molds just not grow on milk products under certain conditions?  How can I make sure I'm safe?   I have similar concerns for aged beef as well.

I should also mention that I live in an apartment, so the temperature is roughly 70 all the time.  Of course I do have a refrigerator.   But I can't keep something at other temperatures.

Offline mikekchar

• Old Cheese
  • Cheeses: 118
  • Default personal text
Re: HARD CHEESE FROM YOGURT
« Reply #1 on: March 07, 2022, 11:34:21 AM »
Let me put it this way: you *can* do different things, but it won't be easier  ;D

OK.  It's an excuse for my favourite topic: acidity and acid coagulated cheeses.  Let's see if I can do it this time in less than 5 million words...