Author Topic: What Conditions to Keep Cheese Before Waxing?  (Read 1045 times)

Offline MellonFriend

• Young Cheese
  • Cheeses: 0
What Conditions to Keep Cheese Before Waxing?
« on: June 22, 2022, 03:24:56 AM »
Hello all,  I am very new to cheesemaking and have recently tried colby as my first hard cheese.  After bringing I have been letting my cheese sit on the counter and air dry for a two-three days before waxing as during this time it seems to perspire and I figured that should stop before I wax it to help the wax stick and mold to not form under the wax.  Am I doing the right thing by not waxing it until a few days have past after brining?  If so during this time is it okay to have it just on my counter in about 71-73 degree temperatures?  Would it be better to put it in my cheese cave for this process?  I did not notice any mold growth during this time, but I'm not 100% sure.  Thanks in advance. :)

Offline rsterne

• Old Cheese
  • Cheeses: 54
  • Too many hobbies - too little time!
Re: What Conditions to Keep Cheese Before Waxing?
« Reply #1 on: June 22, 2022, 04:38:32 AM »
I air-dry my cheese for 2-4 days at 55*F (turning twice a day) for 9 months of the year.... In the summer we require air conditioning here during the day, but at night it usually drops to about 60*F, and the drying period is therefore warmer.... That means it takes less time, of course, and I have never had a problem with the cheese sweating, but we only make semi-hard and hard cheese.... If you can't keep the temperature and humidity low enough to prevent sweating, you could just put it in your cheese cave for a week or so (it will take longer because of the higher humidity), and wipe it with brine or vinegar to prevent mold....