Author Topic: Wireless smart hygrometer for home cheese cave?  (Read 1902 times)

Offline NewbieInNewHampshire

• Medium Cheese
  • Cheeses: 7
  • Default personal text
Wireless smart hygrometer for home cheese cave?
« on: August 03, 2022, 03:30:51 AM »
Hi all -

Just joined. Great to be here and I greatly appreciate any advice you're willing to offer. I'm pretty new to cheesemaking. So far, I've made chevre, cream cheese, creme fraiche, and feta - basically all the easy stuff. I've purchased a cheese press and it's time to take the next step to hard cheeses, so I've been doing research on home cheese "caves."

I'm interested in a wireless smart hygrometer that would speak to my iPhone, but have noticed that most hygrometers/weather stations only use a probe to measure temperature. I'd love to have a device that uses a probe for humidity, too, to enable me to keep the electronics of the readout device outside of the refrigerator.

Does anyone have a recommendation for a device that I could stick in a refrigerator that will effectively speak to my phones and provide alerts if the humidity is outside the parameters I establish? In a perfect world, I could just put a probe inside the refrigerator to preserve the electronics on the readout device, but this is the only device I've found that seems to offer that option https://smile.amazon.com/gp/product/B01H38RPNG/ref=ox_sc_act_title_3?smid=AON8DME687K1&th=1. Any thoughts on this device?

Bonus points if multiple probes are allowed, as it looks like it is advisable to keep a separate "cave" for blue cheese and I don't want to mess around with cross-contamination. :-)

I hope this query makes sense. I'm basically just looking for hygrometer recommendations that are wireless and will speak to an iPhone and provide alerts for excursions.

Thank you so much for any insight/suggestions you can provide. I really value your guidance.

Best,
Melanie

Online mikekchar

• Old Cheese
  • Cheeses: 118
  • Default personal text