Author Topic: Prehistoric cheese and the question of transport  (Read 2571 times)

Offline awpo

• New Cheese
  • Cheeses: 0
  • Default personal text
Prehistoric cheese and the question of transport
« on: March 01, 2023, 10:24:01 AM »
Hello! I am studying for a PhD in archaeology and currently pondering the question of the distances likely to be involved in prehistoric transhumance. One question concerns transport: even if a household had only a few milk-cows and/or sheep, they would still have been able to make a considerable volume of cheese over the summer months. Initially, I assume these were soft cheeses with a high water content, which would have weighed a lot. So, both in order to preserve them and in order to transport as much as possible back home for the winter, they would have had to press/salt/smoke them. OK so far?

So my main question is: what order of weight reduction can be achieved by pressing/salting/smoking a soft cheese? I'm guessing about 50%, but I'd be very grateful for some authoritative figures and for any other thoughts you may wish to offer! Thanks in advance.

Offline Flound

• Young Cheese
  • Cheeses: 3
  • He's back! My brain tried to off me. Failed!
    • Gooseberry Hollow YT channel
Re: Prehistoric cheese and the question of transport
« Reply #1 on: March 01, 2023, 11:20:52 AM »
Not even close to an expert, but I do know that higher moisture content cheeses don't last as long as drier cheeses.

Pure speculation but I think the decision to age or consume would be decided during the making of the cheese, rather than making soft cheeses and then trying to affect changes on them post make.

For example, smaller curd cut and a cooking of the curd will expel a lot of moisture (whey) from the curd, resulting in a drier curd that's pressed immediately. Salting obviously helps with that, too.

Offline mikekchar

• Old Cheese
  • Cheeses: 118
  • Default personal text
« Reply #2 on: March 01, 2023, 12:10:07 PM »