Author Topic: Trouble with Langres-style cheese  (Read 2162 times)

Offline StuartT

• Medium Cheese
  • Cheeses: 0
  • Default personal text
Trouble with Langres-style cheese
« on: December 02, 2023, 02:28:07 PM »
I am completely new to cheesemaking. For my first attempt, I followed this recipe for Langres-style cheese https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JzJ6fPj2Seo

My first attempt used pasteurised, homogenised milk warmed to 20° C and even 16 hours after adding the rennet it had not properly coagulated. So of course when I tried to spoon it into the molds it just drained out through the holes (i.e. there was no real curds and whey).

This is the rennet I used https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B0C1NLYB5Z (16 drops)
and this is the mesophillic culture I used https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B08WPD5FNR (1.2 tsp)
I added 1/4 tsp of calcium chloride (dissolved in a little water) before warming the milk and adding the other stuff.

So I figured maybe the problem was that the milk was pasteurised, or homogenised (it was from a supermarket). So I then bought some raw milk from a local dairy farm and tried again with exactly the same method. This time, it seemed to coagulate a little bit better, but there still wasn't that watery, yellow whey you're supposed to get. I did cut the curd, but the remaining liquid just looked like milk. Result was that when I spooned it into the molds very little liquid drained out and it all just stayed super runny.

Here are some pics and vids to show you how it looked:
https://share.icloud.com/photos/077J90SPb8nmN9YMIdNErO-rQ
https://share.icloud.com/photos/02e2glhzpdhseFQF8EFea0y2w
https://share.icloud.com/photos/092u4JMHcXCxlCe6JMtzjdJYQ
https://share.icloud.com/photos/0812qa9ISg4jtYvPtvsf5PdYA

what am I doing wrong?

Thanks in advance!

« Last Edit: December 02, 2023, 02:34:43 PM by StuartT »

Offline B e n

• Medium Cheese
  • Cheeses: 3
  • Default personal text
Re: Trouble with Langres-style cheese
« Reply #1 on: December 02, 2023, 03:17:29 PM »