Author Topic: Beginner looking to know where to start  (Read 2494 times)

Offline Tara_H

• Young Cheese
  • Cheeses: 1
  • Default personal text
Beginner looking to know where to start
« on: December 04, 2023, 05:52:16 PM »
Hi all, I hope this is a reasonable place to post this, if not please let me know!

I'm very new to cheesemaking but I have plenty of experience with making wine and beer, baking bread, and making soap, so I'm hoping that even if the knowledge is not transferable, a lot of the basic skills will be...

I'm allergic to cow's milk and we generally buy Manchego for our household use, and this year we got a couple of sheep in the summer with a view to lambs (and hence milk) in the spring so that we can make our own cheese.  What we didn't know is that the ewe was already pregnant so about a month ago we had an unexpected lamb and a massive learning curve for milking etc (she also wouldn't accept him or let him feed so we had to milk her by hand to keep her supply up, and then bottle feed the lamb).

All that on a slight tangent, but it means I need to accelerate my journey for learning about cheese!  Given that Manchego-style cheese has a pretty long aging period, and on the understanding that I'm going to make mistakes while I'm learning the basics, I'm really looking for suggestions for cheeses I can make that:
  • are well suited to sheep's milk
  • will give me reasonably early feedback on whether I've done them right
  • will help me build the specific skills I'll need to ultimately make a Manchego-style cheese since that's the end goal