Author Topic: Deep Fried Curd  (Read 7180 times)

milkmaid

Deep Fried Curd
« on: November 19, 2009, 09:21:34 PM »
I am new to the art of cheese making, but I have made squeaky cheese curd twice now, I used the recipe on the New England Cheese Making Supply Company website.
I hadn't heard of deep fried curd, but I have heard of deep fried cheese, so last week I was making my husband batter fried cod, I thought since I had a bit of batter left... well you guessed it! In went the curd and OMG it was delicious!
So today, I made my husband onion rings... in went the curd again!
I use the store bought clubhouse beer batter mix (with just water no beer) But this time with a little twist, after dipping in the batter I tossed the curd into some panko crumbs... They are to die for! The panko crumbs were also nice on the onion rings.
Needless to say I better go out for a walk, a long walk!

milkmaid

PS. I have never liked deep frying but have just recently started. I was watching a cooking show the other day, and that's why onion rings were on the menu today!

Offline DeejayDebi

• Old Cheese
  • Cheeses: 106
    • Deejays Smoke Pit and DSP Forums
Re: Deep Fried Curd
« Reply #1 on: November 20, 2009, 06:58:11 AM »
Congrats on the fried curds. They are very good! I like just munching on fresh curds sometimes to. Chees is a wonderful thing!

thecallofktulu89

« Reply #2 on: May 10, 2010, 09:47:59 AM »
Deep Fried Cheese Curds

Original Recipe Yield  24 servings

Ingredients

* 1 cup all-purpose flour
    * 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
    * 1/2 teaspoon salt
    * 2 eggs, beaten
    * 1/2 cup milk
    * 1 pound cheese curds
    * 1 quart oil for frying

Directions

1. In a medium bowl, sift together the flour, baking powder, and salt. Stir in the eggs and milk. Mix until smooth. Add more milk for a thinner batter. Coat the cheese curds with the batter.