Author Topic: Coliform Bacteria Contamination & Cleanliness Discussion  (Read 5588 times)

CheesyJ

Coliform Bacteria Contamination & Cleanliness Discussion
« on: August 26, 2010, 10:20:03 PM »
Hi All,

So I have a newby cheese question to ask everyone. 

I am new to the cheesemaking world, and have just pressed my first farmhouse cheddar.  The cheddar was made from 2 gallons of supermarket pasteurized milk that I added 1/4 tsp calcium chloride to.  I cleaned all of my pots and utensils in the dishwasher, and I thought everything was very sanitary.

My question is, how do you know if your cheese has been contaminated with coliform bacteria, or if it looks and smells the way it should?

My cheddar has been sitting out at room temperature for the past couple days while it's been drying so I can wax it.  I just read in Ricki Caroll's book that one of the issues some cheesemakers face is coliform contamination.  She says that the contaminated cheese would be difficult to pull from the mold, there would be spongy holes when you cut into it, and the cheese would smell like bread yeast.

What is the normal smell and look for this type of cheese while it's drying?  Currently it has some small depressions on one side of it, but no holes.  It has a unique smell, rather mild, mostly of cheese.  I'm not sure exactly what bread yeast smells like, so I don't know if that's what it smells like.  It was also moderately hard to get out of the mold, but a firm push knocked it out.

The cheese should be dry in a few days, but is it dangerous if it was contaminated?  Also, is this just the normal look and smell for this type of cheese?  One side of the cheese is still very smooth.  It mostly smells like cheese.

Whatever help you can give me would be appreciated.

Alice in TX/MO

Re: Coliform Bacteria Contamination & Cleanliness Discussion
« Reply #1 on: August 26, 2010, 11:38:01 PM »
The time I had that problem, the cheese had MILLIONS of tiny bubble holes inside.  There was no doubt.