Author Topic: My first blue cheese. Got some questions.  (Read 1960 times)

TheBlackbird

My first blue cheese. Got some questions.
« on: July 20, 2012, 10:28:58 AM »
Hey everyone. This is my first attempt at making blue cheese. I used fresh goats milk that I pasteurized to make this cheese, with the milk taken straight from my goat farm.

This is a picture of my cheese as it is 3 weeks (roughly) in and I was wondering if this looked normal? I have no prior experience with blue cheese and have very little knowledge of the finer points in cheese making.

To describe the cheese itself, it has a fine layer of white mold on the surface threaded with patches of blue/green mold. I haven't been able to take pictures of its progress so I can't tell if it's stopped, but it does have a strong smell. The cut in the corner is when I checked if there was mold growing inside (there was none, at the time of bisecting).

This is only one side, but the other side has more blue/green mold since I turn it over semi-regularly.

I take it out of the fridge every two days to breath for 30 minutes to an hour before replacing the lid on the container and placing it back inside.

What's your opinion on how it looks?

Here's the other side of the block of cheese. The camera makes the blue/green mold look gray.

Thanks for any and all input!

hoeklijn

Re: My first blue cheese. Got some questions.
« Reply #1 on: July 20, 2012, 11:26:24 AM »
Hi Blackbird, have you used PC or Geo in the recipe? The outside of the cheese seems to be covered mainly by white mold. When you cut it, deed you see any development of blue where you pierced it?

george

« Reply #2 on: July 20, 2012, 12:59:39 PM »
Also, if you want to get more blue coverage on the rest of it, instead of just off to one side like that, try petting it.   :o 

Pet the blue bits first to transfer some of the existing blue to your hand(s), then pet the areas that don't have much blue.  I've done this before, and it works pretty well.