Bitter-smelling gouda

Started by BungalowJB, July 07, 2021, 09:41:48 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

BungalowJB

Hi folks - I'm very new at making hard cheese, and I suspect I've done something wrong here..

I've used a standard mesophilic culture to make a small gouda, my first ever attempt. It's been in a sealed plastic box in the cellar, which I've been looking at every day. The temperature in the cellar is a consistent 13 degrees Celsius.

After a week, the gouda was completely covered with blue/green mould and has a very strong bitter/sour smell. I've shaved a layer off it and washed it all over with my brine solution. I did try a tiny bit that I'd shaved off, and it tasted just like it smelt! Is this normal for an immature gouda, or have I done something wrong?
I haven't waxed it (don't have anything to use for waxing it), nor have I vacuum sealed it as I've got no kit for that either.
thanks for any input!

bansidhe

Hi, I am also a new cheese maker so take my words with a grain of salt.  Blue molds are ubiquitous... it's super easy to get blue mold on your cheeses.  Blue molds like moisture, so perhaps your space is a bit too damp.  Also, were you looking at your cheese throughout the aging?  One typically has to turn the cheeses at least once a day in the earlier stages of aging.  If you did that, did you notice blue starting to grow?
Or did you put it in the cave and forget about it for a week?  If you see blue mold starting to grow, you can try and brush it off or use a light brine wash to clean the rind.  Then you let your cheese air dry a bit before putting it back in the cave.  This is just what I think based on my limited knowledge.  I am sure more experienced cheese makers will be able to help more.
Making cheese is easy, making a cheese is hard

BungalowJB