Author Topic: Fermented pickles  (Read 3138 times)

Jaspar

Fermented pickles
« on: August 07, 2011, 04:25:10 PM »
 I would like to start making my own fermented pickles and wanted to know if whey could be used to jump start the Lactic Acid production in the brine?

Jaspar

smilingcalico

Re: Fermented pickles
« Reply #1 on: August 07, 2011, 07:36:36 PM »
Jaspar, I don't have any personal experience, but someone suggested in a thread of mine that it could be used in olive making, so I don't see why not. 

MrsKK

« Reply #2 on: August 07, 2011, 10:23:30 PM »
Sally Fallon's book, Nourishing Traditions, has many recipes for fermented veggies, including pickles, using whey.  At a quick glance, her one quart recipe for cucumber pickles includes 4 tablespoons whey.

I've never done it before, but I'm planning on trying whey as a starter with my sauerkraut this year.  Mother Earth News had a recipe for a Tabasco-style pepper sauce, with the pepper pulp being fermented for a month.  I plan on trying that, too, if I can get enough peppers and will use whey in the make.

If you try it, please let us know what you think.

darius

« Reply #3 on: August 08, 2011, 01:05:01 AM »
Jaspar, I use whey in all my fermented pickles... and I make many kinds! I also use it to jump start apple cider vinegar. There are some recipes and techniques on my blog, under 'fermented vegetables'...

Jaspar

« Reply #4 on: August 08, 2011, 02:20:08 AM »
 Thanks all, I started a gallon today adding 1/4 cup of well strained whey,can't wait I love a great pickle. Darius you have a great site :D
                                          Jaspar

george

« Reply #5 on: August 08, 2011, 08:45:48 AM »
Sally always used to say (unfortunately after the various printings of NT) that you couldn't use whey from hard cheese-making for this.  I don't remember exactly why.  I used to make Ron Schmid's version of lemon cheese and use the whey from that instead.